Joel Martinez http://codecube.net/ Software Engineer at Xamarin. Founded ONETUG. Author of 'C# 5 First Look' http://amzn.com/1849686769. en-us How Work is Changing http://codecube.net/2013/09/how-work-is-changing/ As a Software Engineer/Programmer/Developer/NinjaPirateWhateverHipstersAreCallingThemselvesTheseDays, it’s hard not to see the slowly changing tide of work culture in our particular industry.... Joel Martinez 2013-09-10 2013-09-10 Xamarin http://codecube.net/2013/08/xamarin/ I'm incredibly excited to announce that I've joined Xamarin! When I wrote my book, I remarked to a few friends at the time that it was basically a love letter to C#; a language that is powerful, ... Joel Martinez 2013-08-19 2013-08-19 Exceptionally Simple Writing Tips http://codecube.net/2013/08/exceptionally-simple-writing-tips/ Pretty awesome Reddit thread where people give tips on writing. Some of my favorite tidbits: ... Joel Martinez 2013-08-16 2013-08-16 Apps for Your Data http://codecube.net/2013/08/apps-for-your-data/ At the combined iOS/Android meetup last night, Demian Seiler did a short presentation on PressGram. It is an app that purports to replace instagram, and does so by posting your pictures to your own... Joel Martinez 2013-08-01 2013-08-01 Static Site Generator http://codecube.net/2013/07/static-site-generator/ This site is now being generated by a CLI tool to generate a static site from a Wordpress export file. Uses RazorEngine as the templating engine, and a Wordpress post export file as the input. You ... Joel Martinez 2013-07-31 2013-07-31 Latest Open Source Projects http://codecube.net/2013/06/latest-open-source-projects/ Just wanted to post a little information about some projects that I've open sourced recently: TattooDB-Android - https://github.com/joelmartinez/TattooDB-Android TattooDB is a simple document-orien... Joel Martinez 2013-06-29 2013-06-29 C# 5 First Look http://codecube.net/2012/12/c-5-first-look/ My book is finally available for pre-order! From the overview: ... Joel Martinez 2012-12-13 2012-12-13 Introducing Viewer for Khan Academy (Windows 8) http://codecube.net/2012/09/introducing-viewer-for-khan-academy-windows-8/ After much hard work, I'm happy to announce the release of a project I've been working on, Viewer for Khan Academy on the Windows Store (windows 8). The source code can be found on GitHub... Joel Martinez 2012-09-26 2012-09-26 Universal Subtitles C# API Wrapper http://codecube.net/2012/08/universal-subtitles-c-api-wrapper/ This is available on GitHub here: https://github.com/joelmartinez/universalsubtitles-csharp C# 5.0 API Wrapper for the Universal Subtitles service, which is what the Khan Academy... Joel Martinez 2012-08-02 2012-08-02 Back in Orlando http://codecube.net/2012/07/back-in-orlando/ Well that was fun :) It was only two years ago that I moved to NYC. In that time, I made a ton of new friends, had great conversations, and expanded my horizons by changing my focus to mobile devel... Joel Martinez 2012-07-26 2012-07-26 Twilio Request Parameters in ASP.NET MVC http://codecube.net/2012/07/twilio-request-parameters-in-asp-net-mvc/ Integrating Twilio into your ASP.NET MVC applications is now just a tiny bit easier ... The latest twilio-csharp... Joel Martinez 2012-07-09 2012-07-09 Multi-Armed Bandit in C# http://codecube.net/2012/05/multi-armed-bandit-in-c/ After reading this fantastic blog post about how to do better than A/B testing (http://stevehanov.ca/blog/index.php?id=132), I decided to create an implementation of the algorithm in C#. As I alrea... Joel Martinez 2012-05-31 2012-05-31 DarkSky API Wrapper for C# http://codecube.net/2012/05/darksky-api-wrapper-for-c/ When I saw that the guys from Dark Sky were releasing an API, I knew I wanted to work with it. So I whipped up a quick C# API Wrapper for the DarkSky API. You can find the project here on GitHub: ... Joel Martinez 2012-05-29 2012-05-29 The Problem with C# 5's async/await Pattern http://codecube.net/2012/05/the-problem-with-c-5s-asyncawait-pattern/ C# 5 brings a fantastic new feature … built-in asynchrony (not to be confused with concurrency... Joel Martinez 2012-05-21 2012-05-21 Twilio-CSharp for MonoTouch and Android http://codecube.net/2012/05/twilio-csharp-for-monotouch-and-android/ I noticed that Twilio's official C# client didn't have a version that you could use from MonoTouch and Mono for Android. So I took a few minutes, forked the project, and added some MonoDevelop proj... Joel Martinez 2012-05-17 2012-05-17